top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichelle McLim

Thankful.


My parents are my world. Not many 25 year olds get the opportunity to spend as much time with their parents as I do and I am quite blessed for those moments. Growing up, both my parents worked long hours and it was rare that I ever got a chance to see them. Grandma took care of me for the most part. I never understood as a child why my parents were never home, and of course during my angsty teenage years we had our fair share of arguments, but it took me living on my own to appreciate how much they have sacrificed for me and my sister. Both my parents escaped the Khmer Rouge (Southeast Asian Holocaust--rarely ever mentioned in history books) and came to America at just about my age, in their early twenties with practically nothing but themselves. They both worked hard to become business owners and are now happily retired. They have been through valleys and peaks, figuratively and literally. I have been asked "How are Asians so successful?" and my only answer to them is because they work hard to get to where they want to be and strive for greatness and my parents did exactly that. Witnessing the sacrifices my parents made to allow me to get a better education and life has only strengthen my respect for them more. I am also a first generation born in America and that was a struggle in itself, not being able to see eye to eye and having to meet certain expectations. My mom is a bit more of the traditional one of the parents and it has definitely been a learning experience for the both of us. I am happy to say my experience in London has helped me grow so much and I am now able to be more open in communicating with my parents much more than I was before.


My parents are my best friends, of course, I want my space, but what child doesn't? Moving back home has been a bit of a struggle because I was so used to being in my own space and having that freedom to make more of my own decisions, but once I moved back home, space is non-existent. I know I am growing up and I know mom and dad miss me and I miss them too, but space is needed for my growth and sanity. However, as a reminder, "As we grow up, they grow old" so take time out of your day to cherish your parents, because like my mom always says, "you never know what is going to happen tomorrow."


I have put so much pressure on myself to make my parents proud. All I want for them is to know that I will be okay, I will succeed and that I will be able to take care of them some day. I am sure those thoughts are running through their minds right now, especially my mother's. I have always put them first and it has taken a toll on me and my relationships. I am still trying to find the balance of doing things for myself and doing things for them and that will come in time. As for now, I am signing off. Love you mom and dad, appreciate you both, always! <3



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page